DIY - make your own nightcap/sleeping cap

You will need:
  • A fabric of your choosing. Preferably some sort of smooth satin, such as silk satin or rayon satin.
  • Thread
  • Elastic or a draw string
  • Safety pin
  • Sewing machine
  • Pencil
  • Pattern or a string and needle
How to do it:
 
 
  • Draw a circle.
  • I put the fabric on a soft surface. I choose the couch, but a bed should be just fine. I took a ribbon and attached it with a needle in the middle.

  • Then I measured 30 cm from the needle, to where I attached the pen with a knot.

  • I held the needle down with one hand and used the other to draw the circle. (I actually got a bit of help from my boyfriend, to keep the fabric smooth, but you can do it by yourself.)
 
 
  • Your circle doesn't have to be perfect.

  • Zigzag all the way around the fabric.
 
 
  • Fold the edge and sew running stiches all the way around.

  • If like me, you have a fabric with a smoother side. You want the smooth side to be the inside of your cap, to protect your hair.

  • To make it more comfortable, I put the "pocket" for the elastic on the outside of the cap.
 
 
  • Fold the fabric again to make a "pocket" for the elastic and sew another running seam. I folded the fabric every few centimeters, to make wrinkles as I went, because it's a circle and you will end up with a longer piece of fabric on the edge. You can of course pin it before you sew it, but I prefer to just do things as I go. (Lazy Tatsu.)

  • While you can place this "pocket" on the inside, I highly doubt that it will be comfortable. So once again I placed it on the outside.

  • Leave a 2-4 cm opening.
 
 
  • Attach your elastic or draw string to a safety pin and pull it through your pocket. You can measure the length before or after.
 
 
  • Sew the ends of the elastic together.

  • If you're unsure that the elastic is a good length for you. Leave the opening. If not, sew it close.
 
 
  • If you want to decorate your cap, you can attach a bow to it.
 
 
I have now been using my cap for a month. I am very happy with it! I wear my hair loose under. I thought that my hair would tangle, but it does not! I doubt that a braid woud be comfortable to wear under, but sleeping with loose hair under tha cap, is very comfortable.
 
 
And I am about to make more! I want thinner silk ones for the summer and another one in black rayon satin to match our other pillowcases.

Kommentarer
Postat av: indi500fan

Beautiful work!

Svar: Thank you! :)
Tatsu

2021-01-16 @ 17:40:57

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0