DIY. Make your own Aloe Vera gel

Aloe Vera is a great humectant. (Humectants helps to draw moisture into the hair and skin. Moisture is water and all moisturizers works like this.)
 
I've been making my own Aloe Vera gel for a long time and it's an important part of my hair care routine. I use the gel as it is, or in a detagnling spray.
 
You need:
 
  • One or a few Aloe Vera plants (aloe barbadensis. I have several, so I'm never running out of leaves)
  • A potatoe peeler
  • A teaspoon
  • A blender
  • Something to strain the gel with
  • A jar or a bottle
  • Optional: vinegar, distilled water, rose water
How to do it:
 
  • Cut off a few leaves.
  • Let them "stand" for a few minuters, to allow the "yellow liquid" to escape.
  • Peel of the flat part of the leaves
  • Remove the "flesh" with a teaspoon
  • Blend it
  • You can add distilled water if you want more of a liquid, or rose water if you want it to smell nice
  • For longer storage you can add a few drops of vinegar. (I like to add apple cider vinegar. It makes the gel stay fresh longer and is beneficial for both the hair and the skin.)
  • Strain it to get rid of any chunks (the foam will disappear).
  • Store it in the refridgerator
  • It stays fresh for 1-2 months in the refridgerator
 
  • Apply it with a spray bottle or with your hands to your hair, scalp or skin.
I use it to moisturize, add shine and slip to my hair, tame braid shread and to reduce tangles. I use it a few times a week followed up by an oil and around once a week to my scalp, by massaging it in.

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0